- In order to obtain a library card, a valid picture ID must be shown. If your ID does not have your current address, proof of residence must be shown such as a utility bill or printed check. A Wisconsin Driver's License or state ID number is needed when you register.
- Anyone under 16 years of age will need a parent or guardian to show the proper ID and sign a statement of responsibility before a card will be given.
- The minimum age for a card is 3.
- Minnesota residents are charged $25 a year for a card.
A patron who loses their card should notify the library as soon as possible to prevent misuse of the card. A replacement card may be obtained for $1.
- When the library is open, you can return materials to the help desk or outside drop.
- When the library is closed, you will need to return materials in the outside drop at the north side of the library.
- You can also return materials to any MORE library.
- Please check materials to make sure that you have not left anything important in books and magazines and that the dvds are the ones that you checked out.
- If a book is not on the shelf, check with the librarians. They can tell you if it is checked out or missing.
- If the book is checked out, a reserve can be placed. If you have Internet access at home, you may place your own reserves using the MORE catalog.
- There is a reserve limit of 50 items per card at any one time.
- When the book comes in you will be notified.
- If the book is missing, the staff can request an interlibrary loan. When a book is requested through interlibrary loan, you will be notified when it arrives.
- You may renew by phone, in person or use the online catalog. Go under "My Account" on the upper left side of the page.
- It is not necessary to bring the materials to the library.
- There is a limit of two renewals on most items.
- Materials on reserve may not be renewed.
- Most materials may be checked out for three weeks. Some libraries may limit new materials to 14 days.
- DVDs and magazines (with the exception of current issues and the reference copy of Consumer's Reports) may be checked out for 7 days. Television series generally have a loan period of 14 days.
- There is a limit of 100 items checked out per card at any one time.
- Hudson-owned adult materials (except dvds) have a rate of $.25/day/item (maximum $5.00/item).
- Hudson-owned children's materials (except dvds) are fined $.10/day/item (maximum $5.00/item).
- All dvds have a $1.00/day/item overdue charge ($5.00 maximum).
Book Discussion Kit Guidelines for Hudson owned kits:
Book discussion kits may be checked out for eight weeks. They may not be renewed.
Kits are checked out to one person. Members of the group should get their copies from the person who checked out the kit. Kits come as a set. Individual items from the kit may not be checked out.
The individual who checks out the kit is responsible for the return of the complete kit.
Overdue book discussion kits will be fined $1 per day per kit, with a maximum fine of $20 per kit.
All materials in each kit must be returned together; a library staff member will inventory the kit upon return.
The entire book discussion kit collection in the catalog can be viewed by clicking Book Kit Collection.